Loading Events

How are Quakers supporting climate action at the UN?

April 29 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm UTC+1
Virtual Event Virtual Event

This year, the UN-body the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) presents its Sixth Assessment Report, which collates the most up-to-date climate science to inform governments on what is happening and what they can do about it. The reports have a legal status, which not only guide policy makers worldwide, but also have been used by citizens across the globe to hold governments to account for insufficient action on climate change.

Friends World Committee for Consultation (FWCC), represented by the Quaker United Nations Office in Geneva (QUNO) is the only accredited faith-based observer organisation actively engaged in the negotiations to agree the IPCC’s summary report.

Join this online conversation on Friday 29 April with QUNO’s Representative for Climate Change, Lindsey Fielder Cook, to learn more about the unique access and influence Quakers have in these multilateral negotiations.

Please send questions in advance to sustainability@fwcc.world

Corresponding meeting times:

12 pm London
7 am Philadelphia / La Paz
1 pm Johannesburg
2 pm Nairobi
4.30 pm New Delhi
7 pm Manila / Perth
8 pm Tokyo
9 pm Canberra
11 pm Wellington

Event Details

April 29 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm UTC+1
Virtual Event Virtual Event