Celebrating 100 years of Friends’ Testimony Against War: 1920 All Friends’ Conference to Today 2020

Global Online Worship:  to mark one hundred years since the first All Friends’ Conference.

August 15, Saturday 12:00 – 1:30 (UK time)

What happened in 1920? August 12-20 963 Friends met in London in the United Kingdom for the first world conference of Friends. Friends met to garner a worldwide opposition to war. The conference brought Evangelical Friends, Conservative Friends, and mystical Friends (Gurneyites, Wilburites, and Hicksites) in a common approach to post-war social and political problems. 100 years on, we want to come together to mark the occasion and to continue to express our longing for a peaceful world.

What will happen in 2020? The world office is inviting Friends to 1 ½  hours of worship to mark 100 years on from the first world gathering. What compelled Friends in a post-war environment and what inspires us now to continue in our work for a peaceful world?  How has God called us for these 100 years? To what can we testify today?   This will include a quick orientation to how the worship will work on Zoom.

As a global family, we welcome Friends across the branches, across sections, and across time zones.  Please join us! 

Register for the Global Online Worship: Come Celebrate 100 years of Friends’ Testimony Against War from 1920 to 2020.

If you’re unable to join in person, uphold us as we gather to mark 100 years on from the first All Friends’ Conference.

Corresponding timezones:

LocationLocal TimeTime Zone 
London (United Kingdom – England)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 12:00BST 
Wellington (New Zealand – Wellington)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 23:00NZST 
Sydney (Australia – New South Wales)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 21:00:00AEST 
New Delhi (India – Delhi)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 16:30IST 
Nairobi (Kenya)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 14:00EAT 
Philadelphia (USA – Pennsylvania)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 07:00EDT 
La Paz (Bolivia)Saturday, 15 August 2020, 07:00BOT

Register for the Global Online Worship: Come Celebrate 100 years of Friends’ Testimony Against War from 1920 to 2020.

Additional Event:

If you want to learn more about the All Friends Conference from 1920, and where it leaves us today, join our Quaker Conversations led by Tim Gee “ Peace, Environment, and the Kingdom of Heaven

Share via: